For a list of CUFSAA members participated at the IGA: See *Attachment 1*

At the inaugural meeting the proposed, BY LAWS OF THE COLOMBO UNIVERSITY FACULTY OF SCIENCE ALUMNIASSOCIATION – NORTH AMERICA (CUFSAA, CUFSAA-NA), were unanimously adopted by the membership present at the meeting.

The executive committee was nominated by the interim committee members for the following positions as per the definition in article 4 of the By Laws.

Executive committee members:-

President: Prof. LMV Tillekeratne

President elect: Dr. Chandana Goonetilleke,

Vice Presidents:

Dr. Kirthi Premadasa, Dr. Sumedha Jayasena, Dr. Vicumpriya Perera

Joint Secretaries: Dr. Chandrasiri Jayakody, Dr. Harshani Munidasa

Treasurer: Dr. Saliya de Silva

Ordinary members: -

Dr. Lakmal Boteju, Dr. Reshan Fernando, Dr. Lalith Perera, Dr. Gomika Udugamasooriya, Dr. Asoka Perera, Mr. Karl Uduman, Mr. Sampath Galappatty, Ms. Asanthi Pieris, Dr. Oshadha Ranasinghe, Mr. Chandika Wijesundara, Dr. Angelo Gunasekera, Mr.Gajaka Weerasinghe

The proposal to expand the committee up to 25 members by Reshan Fernando was seconded by Chandana Goonetilleke and the following names were proposed and seconded to be added as additional executive members.

Dr. Randara Pulukkody proposed by Prof. LMV Tillekeratne seconded by Harshani Munidasa

Dr. Jayanth Hemakumara, proposed by Kirthi Premadasa and seconded by Gajaka Weerasinghe. Jayanth declined to be a committee member at this point in time.

Dr. Priyantha Sugathapala, proposed by Dhamika Amarathunge seconded by Reshan Fernando

As there were no other proposal it was decided to pick the additional members by the committee after looking at the survey responses. Therefore standing committee were picked from those who have responded positively to the question "Would you like to be involved with CUFSAA committees and organizing events for CUFSAA?" and by recommendation of existing committee members.

Dr. Ajith Waidyaratne proposed by Vicumpriya Perera and seconded by Lalith Perera

Dr. Thushara Chey Perera - proposed by Asanthi Pieris and seconded by Harshani Munidasa

Dr. Waruna Fernando - proposed by Randara Pulukkody and seconded by Prof. LMV Tillekeratne

After completing the selection of the executive committee, as per the by laws an ordinary member will be elected in place of the Immediate Past President for the first Executive Committee.

See Attachment 2 for the full list executive committee members.

Addressing the gathering Prof. Tillekeratne described the 2 main projects CUFSSAA - NA will be supporting.

- 1. to install AC and sound systems for the three lecture theatres in the renovated chemistry building (expanded CLT, PLT and new lecture theatre by converting the upstairs Chemistry lab). The cost is estimated at around Rs 1.5 million.
- 2. to install a drinking water system and to have a temporary building for students to study. (with the constructions students are loosing their study areas in the canteen and in the premises where library building will come up including the current library). The cost is estimated at around Rs 300,000.

There is also a request for a telescope for the observatory dome located in the university of Colombo grounds. Estimated cost \$3000 US.

He also request members to volunteer as mentors to new graduate students arriving in US and Canada. There is a plan to make a hand book for the new comers.

CUFSAA has established an emergency fund for the students and will expand to faculty.

There is a speakers guild established by CUFSAA and anyone who wish to give a presentation at the University to contact CUFSAA so that they will be connected with the university officials.

The meeting was adjourned after Dr. Kirthi Premadasa proposed a standing ovation from those present, to thank Prof. Tillekeratne for establishing the organization.

Minutes prepared by: Harshani Munidasa and Chandrasiri Jayakody

Attachment 1 - List of Participants - Alumni of University of Colombo

Prof. LMV Tillekeratne Mano Thillekeratne Dr. M. Mahendran Chandana Goonetilleke Kirthi Premadasa Sumedha Jayasena, Vinitha Jayasena Saliya de Silva Sudam Pathirana Vicumpriya Perera Chandrasiri Jayakody Harshani Munidasa Mahendra Munidasa Lakmal Boteju Reshan Fernando Lalith Perera Asoka Perera Asanthi Pieris Oshadha Ranasinghe Chandika Wijesundara Angelo Gunasekera Gajaka Weerasinghe Priyantha Sugathapala Randara Pulukkody Rohith Gunawardhana Indu Christopherson Samanthi Sirimanne Pradeep Alwis Ransirimal Fernando Manel Fernando Jayanth Hemakumar Reancy Perera

Attachment 2 - New Executive Committee members elected

- 1. Lakmal Boteju, Ph.D. NJ, USA
- 2. Saliya De Silva, Ph.D. NJ, USA Treasurer
- 3. Reshan Fernando, Ph.D. NC, USA
- 4. Waruna Fernando, Ph.D. CA, USA
- 5. Sampath Galappatty MA, USA
- 6. L.C. Goonetilleke, Ph.D. NJ, USA President-Elect
- 7. Angelo Gunasekera, Ph.D. NY, USA
- 8. Asanthi Pieris Gunatilaka, M.S. NJ. USA
- 9. Chandrasiri Jayakody, Ph.D. *MI*, *USA* **Joint Secretary**
- 10. Sumedha Jayasena, Ph.D. CA, USA Vice President
- 11. Harshani Munidasa, Ph.D. ON, Canada Joint Secretary
- 12. Asoka Perera, Ph.D. ON, Canada
- 13. Lalith Perera, Ph.D. NC, USA
- 14. Thushara Perera USA
- 15. Vicumpriya Perera, Ph.D. *OH*, *USA* Vice President
- 16. Kirthi Premadasa, Ph.D. WI, USA Vice President
- 17. Randara Pulukkody, Ph.D. PA, USA
- 18. Oshadha K. Ranasingha, Ph.D. NH, USA
- 19. Priyantha Sugathapala, Ph.D. NY, USA
- 20. L.M.V. Tillekeratne, D.Phil. OH, USA President
- 21. Gomika Udugamasooriya, Ph.D. TX, USA
- 22. Karl Uduman BC, Canada
- 23. Ajith Waidyaratne, Ph.D. OH, USA
- 24. Gajaka Weerasinghe, M.S., M.Sc. PA, USA
- 25. Chandika Wijesundara, M.S. FL, USA